DAI “Meeting Of The Minds” Webinars & Events

In DAI’s “A Meeting of the Minds” monthly Webinar series, we feature people who have unique perspectives on dementia and who challenge the status quo; our speakers are always highly regarded international academics, clinicians, service providers or keynote speakers.

In December, we  host two celebration events, rather than having an educational speaker, and in January, our Cafe Le Brain is usually the celebration of DAI’s ‘Birthday’, although we always aim to have a Webinar in January as well.

Monthly webinars focus on a variety of topics, and provide an opportunity for people with dementia to connect with the wider community of those living with the disease or working in the area of dementia, and vice versa.  To participate, you need only an Internet connection; a webcam and microphone will ensure a fuller experience.

Join us for our November 2019 “A Meeting Of The Minds Webinar”, Beyond BPSD


 

 

 

 

 

Please note, this is one event, in a number of time zones.


About the Webinar: In this session, Al will frame his overall view and approach to dementia and explain how the framework of ‘Behavioural and Psychological Symptoms of Dementia’ is inadequate to meet the needs of people living with the diagnosis, and actually leads to use of potentially harmful medications. Al will show how an approach focused on various aspects of well-being provides insights into root causes of distress and provides a pathway to more sustainable, drug-free approaches. Al will share stories from his experience that support the approach and also some significant data of its success in a state-wide initiative in the US.

About Al: Dr. Allen Power is an internist, geriatrician, and Schlegel Chair in Ageing and Dementia Innovation at the Schlegel—University of Waterloo Research Institute for Ageing in Ontario, Canada. He is also clinical associate professor of medicine at the University of Rochester, NY, and an international educator on transformational models of care for older adults, particularly those living with changing cognitive abilities.

Dr. Power’s book, Dementia beyond Drugs: Changing the Culture of Care was named a 2010 Book of the Year by the American Journal of Nursing. His second book, Dementia Beyond Disease: Enhancing Well-Being was released by Health Professions Press in June 2014 and the second edition of Dementia Beyond Drugs was released in 2017. Dr. Power also has a 20-year history working in culture change in aged care. He led St. John’s Home in Rochester, New York to become the world’s largest Eden Alternative member home, and also helped develop St. John’s Penfield Green House homes—the only community-integrated Green House homes in the US.

Wednesday, November 27, 2019 (USA/CA/UK/EU):

  • 10:30 am Honolulu
  • 12:30 pm Pacific
  • 1:30 pm Mountain
  • 2:30 pm Central
  • 3:30 pm Eastern
  • 8:30 pm London/Glasgow/Dublin UK
  • 9:30 pm Paris, Munich, Amsterdam, EU

Thursday, November 28, 2019 (AU/NZ/JP/SGP/TWN/CHN):

  • 6:30 am Brisbane, AU
  • 7:00 am Adelaide AU
  • 7:30 am Sydney/Melbourne/Canberra/Tasmania AU
  • 4:30 am Perth AU/Taipei//Beijing
  • 9:30 am Auckland, NZ

The Webinar runs for 1.5 hours. Check your time if not listed above with this link.

Register now…


COST TO ATTEND:

  • DAI Members/Care partners: FREE
  • Support people with dementia to attend ADI2020: $50.00 USD
  • Employed persons: DONATIONS APPRECIATED

Donations are appreciated.

PLEASE CONSIDER DONATING TO DAI OR BECOMING AN ASSOCIATE OR PARTNER.

WITHOUT YOUR DONATIONS, DAI COULD NOT PROVIDE THE SERVICES WE PROVIDE CURRENTLY FOR MEMBERS, THEIR FAMILIES & THE GLOBAL COMMUNITY.

  • $US 5.00 covers the average cost of one of our monthly bank fees
  • $US 60.00 covers the average of the cost of our monthly Zoom subscription fee
  • $US 120.00 covers the average monthly cost of the MailChimp subscription
  • $US 300.00 covers the current cost of 3 months of website management fees

Support people with dementia: Donate to DAI

Become a DAI Associate or Strategic Partner today

Volunteer for DAI

CERTIFICATES OF ATTENDANCE: If you are still waiting on a certificate of attendance from any of our educational webinars, please email us at [email protected]

OPTION: Our event ticketer, Eventbrite, charges us a transaction fee to cover fees and other processing costs, to securely process your donation. Please consider adding an additional small amount to your donation so 100% of your donation amount goes to Dementia Alliance International.

Thank you.

You can view videos of previous DAI “A Meeting of the Minds” Webinars on the You can view videos of previous DAI “A Meeting of the Minds” Webinars on the DAI YouTube Channel

Please note: Whilst we usually publish the recording of the event on YouTube afterwards, it does not include the Q & A sessions, and occasionally, we do not publicly publish recordings of your online Webinars at all, so if you don’t register to attend, you may miss seeing our events.

Of, By, and For People with Dementia

Translate »